creativity · reading · yarn along

Yarn Along: A Good Stretch 

I finally got past the 1×1 ribbing for my first Tridactyl Mitt during a good stretch of knitting over the weekend. And once I did, it turned into a really engaging knit; the wave pattern is just enough thinking for me right now. My mom brought me the wool from Iceland, and I’m glad to have found the perfect use for it. I think over time the mitts will felt themselves a bit with the rubbing against bike handles, adding to their warmth, hopefully. 

I’m still reading Never Let Me Go, and nearing the final scenes of Far From the Madding Crowd (as usual, it was in the bedroom with a napping baby so I didn’t include it in the photo). Our neighbours happen to be watching the new movie version of Far From the Madding Crowd this week, maybe I’ll get out to join them and see how it compares to the book! We watched the old Julie Christie version when we were up in Smithers, and I can now attest to its high degree of accuracy in regards to plot and dialogue. I don’t remember the new one being so faithful, but then I watched it a while before starting the book. (I also just realized that both of the books I am reading right now have been made into movies starring Carey Mulligan. There’s no other significance to this, just taking note!) More Yarn Along projects and reads over at Ginny’s blog! 

3 thoughts on “Yarn Along: A Good Stretch 

  1. I read the book about 15 years ago, and it’s a classic story of honour and loyalty, and yes, love too. I was interested to see a film adaptation to rival those I have seen of say, Jane Ayre or Pride and Prejudice. At the end of the book the connection between Oak and Bathsheba (Carrie Mulligan) was tangible and real. It is not conveyed well in this movie. I watched it with my wife, who has not read the book, and we both agreed a more fitting end to the movie would have been if Oak just went on the boat to America. I simply felt the spark present in the book wasn’t present, at least from the female role. In truth, she makes some pretty questionable decisions and is not too likeable because of it. The movie is ok, and stands on its own merits, to an extent, but does no justice to the excellent book. I am frankly surprised how many good reviews it received, and can only assume people haven’t read the book.

Leave a Reply

