creativity

Turning Projects

It was too warm (yes, too warm!) to do many outdoor activities while visiting Christopher’s parents, not to mention the two sick babies, but Christopher’s dad got us set up in the wood shop for a bunch of turning projects. I had turned one bowl before, last Christmas, and working on several different projects all in a row really helped me understand more of the craft. It’s amazing to watch what is essentially a piece of firewood turn into a sculptural, functional shape like a bowl, napkin ring, needle case, etc. I am planning my next projects already! I only took good pictures of my red alder bowl in process, and several of Christopher’s finished vine maple bowl and juniper plate with live edges. I especially like the transformation that comes when you oil your projects. It really brings out the beauty of the wood!! 

One thought on “Turning Projects

Leave a Reply

