creativity · home life · kids + families

A Very Family Christmas



Given the impending new addition to our family (still waiting, as patiently as possible…), my family generously made the trip out west to spend Christmas with us this year. Although it was less snowy and cold than we have all been generally used to, the rest of the holiday was fairly typical – good food, singing, walks, board games, and downtime. My crafty family members were responsible for several additions to our home, only some of which I have managed to take photos of so far – a new step stool for the bathroom was courtesy of Opa, who flat-packed it from Ontario and assembled it in secret before bringing it out, much to Bean’s delight. Opa also designed a platform bed frame for us, and the menfolk put it together in an afternoon just after Christmas. I am very grateful for the extra six inches of height, which has made it so much more comfortable for me to get in and out of bed just as I reach my most ungainly! My mom brought some amazing sewing projects for the girls, and my sister spent most of her spare time crafting a needle-felted mobile for the baby, both of which I will post photos of soon. Meanwhile, I finally finished Bean’s Fat Kitty sweater, and am now scheming all my new year’s knitting projects in time for the sale at our local wool shop. 

Wishing you all belated joy at this Christmastide, and blessings for the new year ahead! 

One thought on “A Very Family Christmas

Leave a Reply

