creativity · reading · yarn along

Yarn Along: Sweatering


So I just HAD to finish my Confetti Waffle socks yesterday. Usually I put away my knitting when the Bean gets up from her nap, because it’s too tempting for little hands, either if I’m actually working on it or if it’s just sitting on a table somewhere. But yesterday I definitely let her go wild in the house while I finished the toe on the second sock; I was determined to wear them that night to our small group. The pattern is great, and I am already scheming my second pair…but maybe first I will knit a matching pair of Confetti socks for Bean with the leftover wool. 

Now that I’ve finished both my socks and Anne of Avonlea in the same day, I’ve got to get back to my Fat Kitty sweater for the Bean. I don’t have any more in the Anne series, but I have been thinking about re-reading The Secret Garden for a while now, so it seems like an appropriate next book. My copy of Little Women is on loan somewhere, otherwise I think I would be reading that, as I plan for the Advent season. For American readers, does it feel too soon to have Advent beginning just a few days after Thanksgiving? It seems to have crept up on me – as it does every year – and I am trying to decide what sort of readings or rituals we want to include in our Advent preparations. The Bean isn’t really old enough that we need a kid-oriented plan, but I am conscious of building family rituals already now so they feel natural by the time she is old enough to participate. 

Joining with Ginny and friends in the Yarn Along link-up

One thought on “Yarn Along: Sweatering

  1. my kids, particularly my son, beg me throughout the year to do our advent readings. we use ann voskamps book “unwrapping the greatest gift” and print off her free coloring pages/paper ornaments from her site and they color while we read to them every night of advent. when you’re girl is older she may enjoy it, too! noah was just 3 last year and totally engaged, i think we started when he was two. i’m sure it’s too early to remember much but they liked the coloring, nevertheless. i’m looking forward to reading guthrie’s small book on advent called “come thou long expected Jesus”. Also, desiringgod.com has a free advent book by john piper that you can read online, which i did last year and enjoyed. 🙂 it always feels like it is suddenly upon us and i don’t ever feel ready in time so those freebies online are great!

Leave a Reply

