creativity · reading · yarn along

Yarn Along: In the Grip


I’ve spent a lot of my free time since Saturday finishing Jon Krakauer’s Into Thin Air. The version I got from the library was a big, fully illustrated version, which made me feel all the more epic reading it, hunched over the big book at the kitchen table, tea in hand. I finished the book yesterday morning, along with my fifth Puerperium sweater. (I’m really loving that pattern, as many others do too, given its popularity.) I love being gripped by books – I remember staying up late to read as a child, long after everyone else was in bed, because I just had to know what happened next! My eyes would start to droop shut, and I would shake myself, trying to keep reading, body fighting mind between the need to sleep and the need to read. Or sometimes I would skive off my homeschooling work, secretly reading in my room instead of doing my math lesson or whatever. It’s not quite so responsible to do the same thing now – I can’t ignore the Bean or dinner or my need for good sleep as I might have ignored my responsibilities as a thirteen year old. Reading now is done in little spurts – another page or two, just enough to keep the story flowing. But every once in a while I encounter another book that grips me all the way to the end, so that every moment I’m not reading it I’m thinking about it, until I can read again. 

Now that I’m done Into Thin Air, I’ll continue with the gentle Jane of Lantern Hill as my bedtime book. And now that I’m done this Puerperium, I’ll keep working on my Chalice Baby blanket and probably start another Maile sweater as well. Those two projects will finish off my current baby gifts list, allowing me some time to knit for myself, Christopher, and Bean before Christmas. 

Joining up with Ginny’s Yarn Along as usual. 

5 thoughts on “Yarn Along: In the Grip

Leave a Reply

