creativity · reading · yarn along

Yarn Along: Matchy Matchy


I cast off my short-sleeved Puerperium on the weekend and started a Tegan hat to match. Now that it’s all knit up, I’m not so certain I like this wool anymore. It was a bit of an impulse buy, to build up my baby stash, and I have another whole ball of it to be used. Maybe it would make some good toddler socks? Joining up with Ginny’s Yarn Along today! 

I am nearly finished As For Me and My House, and am ready to offer some thoughts on it. After a false start last year, I had not had high hopes for this book on marriage, thinking it to be out-dated and slow. However, I now say with confidence that it is the most practical and relevant book on marriage I have read yet (not that I’ve read many). Often I find marriage or other relational books fall short in their illustrations – too shallow, or stereotypical, for me to really connect with them. Wangerin has a real gift for painting even the most extreme or subtle of dynamics with a careful, thoughtful brush, so I the reader cry out “yes! It’s exactly like that!”, and am then ready for his gentle teaching afterwards. It’s ultimately a very compassionate book, as well, with a focus on forgiveness as the very core of a healthy marriage. I am very thankful to the friends who gave it to us as a wedding gift – it only took me three years to get around to reading it! 

One thought on “Yarn Along: Matchy Matchy

Leave a Reply

